Kalos TV review: is it free, and what do VIP and coins cost?
Short answer
Kalos TV is a short drama app from Storyverse Co., Limited. Its US App Store listing (read October 15, 2026) shows 4.54 stars from 13,155 ratings and a 13+ age rating. The download is free, but full access runs on gold coin packs and VIP subscriptions: two 'vip free week' lines priced $19.99 and $24.99, a weekly coin package at $14.99, a monthly one at $29.99, and coin packs from $6.99 to $24.99. All subscriptions auto-renew. The listing doesn't say how many episodes are free.
Best for Viewers who want adjustable playback speed and fantasy genres
Kalos TV
Storyverse Co., Limited
- Rating
- 4.5 from 13.2K ratings (US App Store)
- Age rating
- 13+
- Languages
- 12
- Weekly plan listed
- $19.99 ("vip free week")
- What's free
- Not stated on the listing
- Plays in a browser
- No
- Facts read on
- October 15, 2026
What's good
- Playback speed from 0.75x to 2x
- Monthly coin package listed at $29.99
- Genres include historical fantasy and teen idols
- Contact email given on the listing
Watch out for
- 'vip free week' lines carry prices of $19.99 and $24.99
- Free episode count not stated on the listing
- Coin pack sizes not stated on the listing
- Fewer US ratings than Playlet or StardustTV
Kalos TV is a real app from a named publisher, and you can download it without paying. It isn't free to watch in full, though: the store listing is built around gold coin packs and VIP subscriptions, and the free allowance isn't stated. The one listing detail to read twice is a purchase called "vip free week" that comes with a price tag.
What Kalos TV is and who makes it
Kalos TV, listed on the US App Store as "Kalos TV-Short Dramas & Reels", is a vertical short drama app. The seller is Storyverse Co., Limited. It launched on September 11, 2023, and version 2.20.0 came out on September 18, 2026.
The description promises exclusive original dramas in genres including urban romance, teen idols, historical fantasy and werewolf stories. It also lists two practical features: playback speed from 0.75x to 2x, and personalized recommendations. The speed control is handy for this format: 2x gets you through a slow setup quickly, and 0.75x helps if you're following along with subtitles in a second language.
| Kalos TV at a glance | Detail |
|---|---|
| Full App Store name | Kalos TV-Short Dramas & Reels |
| Seller | Storyverse Co., Limited |
| US rating | 4.54 stars from 13,155 ratings |
| Age rating | 13+ (App Store page) |
| Released | September 11, 2023 |
| Latest version | 2.20.0, September 18, 2026 |
| Languages | 12, including English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Japanese, Korean, Chinese, Arabic, Thai, Turkish, Indonesian |
| Features | Playback speed 0.75x–2x, personalized recommendations |
| Contact | kalostv@kalostv.com |
| Read date | US App Store, October 15, 2026 |
We read the US App Store listing only. On Android, check that the Google Play page names the same publisher.
How much Kalos TV costs
Prices on the US App Store listing
| Purchase (name as listed) | US price |
|---|---|
| vip free week | $19.99 |
| vip free week | $24.99 |
| Coin Package Week | $14.99 |
| Coin Package Month | $29.99 |
| Standard Gear | $6.99, $8.99, $9.99, $14.99, $24.99 |
The description says Kalos TV sells "gold coin packs and VIP subscriptions", that VIP lets you "unlock all exclusive content", and that all subscriptions renew automatically until you cancel at least 24 hours before they expire.
Two lines deserve a careful look. "vip free week" sounds like a free trial, yet both entries carry a price, $19.99 and $24.99. The listing doesn't explain whether a free period comes first or what you're billed after it. Don't assume the word "free" means you won't be charged. The payment sheet in the app tells you what you're agreeing to: the price, the period, and when the first charge lands.
The "Coin Package Week" and "Coin Package Month" names suggest coins delivered over a week or a month, but the listing doesn't say how many coins either includes. The "Standard Gear" packs at $6.99 to $24.99 look like one-time coin packs, again with no coin counts. Without those numbers, we can't work out a price per coin or per episode. Our guide on how coins work explains what to look for in the app.
Example: weekly vs monthly coin package
Our own arithmetic, using the US listing prices for about a month of use:
- Coin Package Week, four renewals: 4 × $14.99 = $59.96.
- Coin Package Month, one renewal: $29.99.
- VIP at $19.99 a week, four renewals: 4 × $19.99 = $79.96.
On price alone, the monthly coin package costs about half of four weekly ones. We can't tell whether it holds the same number of coins, so check the coin count on the sheet before choosing. And remember a month is a bit longer than four weeks. If coin counts are missing from the sheet, buy the smallest option first.
Is Kalos TV free?
Downloading and browsing is free. Past that, the listing doesn't say how many episodes per series you can watch without paying, how many coins an episode costs, or whether ads or check-ins add free coins. We haven't verified any of these, so we won't print numbers.
The "vip free week" name will tempt some people to treat VIP as free. It's listed with a price, so read the sheet first. The simplest test is to open a series you like, watch until the first lock, and see the unlock cost shown there.
If you'd rather start with apps that state their free allowance, see our list of free short drama apps. Free uploads of Kalos TV series elsewhere aren't from the publisher and are a common scam route.
Is Kalos TV legit and safe
Kalos TV is legit in the plain sense: a named seller on the official App Store, available since 2023, recently updated, with 4.54 stars from 13,155 US ratings. That's a smaller rating count than Playlet or StardustTV, but still a sizable sample. Apple processes payments.
What to weigh:
- Age rating. 13+ on the App Store page. Spending is the larger issue for teens.
- Auto-renewal. Every subscription, VIP or coin package, renews until cancelled at least 24 hours before it expires.
- Confusing names. "vip free week" with a price attached is the clearest example of why you should read the payment sheet, not the product name.
- Missing details. Coin counts per package aren't listed, so value is hard to judge before you're in the app.
Check that the store page names Storyverse Co., Limited before installing. For billing questions, the listing gives kalostv@kalostv.com. On a shared phone, Apple's Screen Time purchase controls and Google Play's purchase verification stop accidental buys. Our guide on whether short drama apps are safe has more checks.
How to cancel Kalos TV
Kalos TV subscriptions bought on iPhone are managed by Apple, so you cancel them in Apple's settings. Uninstalling doesn't end them.
iPhone or iPad
- Open Settings and tap your name.
- Tap Subscriptions.
- Pick the app, then Cancel Subscription.
Android
- Open Google Play and tap your profile icon.
- Tap Payments & subscriptions, then Subscriptions.
- Pick the app, then Cancel subscription.
Deleting the app does not cancel anything. If you paid on the app's website, cancel on that website.
Apple's own steps are on its cancel a subscription page; for Android, see the Google Play subscriptions page.
Kalos TV-specific notes. You may have more than one subscription running, for example a VIP week and a coin package, since both renew. Check the subscription list for every Kalos TV entry and cancel each one at least 24 hours before it expires. If you signed up for a "vip free week", cancel before the date shown in the list if you don't want the paid period. "Standard Gear" packs are one-time purchases and won't appear there.
Refunds go through Apple's refund page, not the app. Our cancellation guide covers other apps too.
Who Kalos TV suits
- Viewers who like to control the pace. The 0.75x to 2x speed range is listed as a feature.
- Fans of historical fantasy, teen idol and werewolf stories, all named in the description.
- People who'd rather pay monthly. The Coin Package Month at $29.99 is cheaper than four weekly packages, though coin counts aren't listed.
It suits less well anyone who wants to know what's free before installing, or who wants clear coin amounts per pack. For comparison, StardustTV states that its weekly subscription unlocks every story.
Kalos TV vs TotalShort
TotalShort is our app, so keep that in mind. Kalos TV has the bigger catalog and an iPhone app today.
| Kalos TV | TotalShort (our app) | |
|---|---|---|
| Catalog | Not stated on the listing | 6 series |
| Made with AI | Not stated on the listing | Yes, every series labeled "AI series" (no real actors) |
| Free episodes | Not stated on the listing | First 8 of every series, plus 1 free a day per series |
| Platforms | iPhone (US App Store, read for this review) | Android (Google Play) only; iPhone version coming soon; no web player |
| Ratings | 4.54 from 13,155 (US App Store) | Brand new, no public rating yet |
| Pricing | US dollars: VIP week $19.99 or $24.99; coin packs from $6.99 | Euro: VIP €5.99 a week or €59.99 a year; 30 coins (€0.30) an episode |
Kalos TV wins on catalog, a rating history, playback speed control and iPhone availability. TotalShort states a free allowance for every series, keeps coins from expiring, asks for confirmation before every unlock, and doesn't require sign-up. Its stories are Italian, with Italian audio and subtitles in 13 languages including English; some series also have English audio. After the 8 free episodes, finishing a 12-episode series costs 4 × 30 = 120 coins, or €1.20.
Get TotalShort on Google Play; the iPhone version is coming soon. Details on our app are in the TotalShort review, and every app is compared in our ranking.
Frequently asked questions
Is Kalos TV free?
The download is free, but full access runs on paid coins and VIP subscriptions. The US App Store listing, read October 15, 2026, doesn't say how many episodes per series are free, and we haven't verified a number. Open a series and watch until the first lock to see the unlock cost. Coin packs start at $6.99, and VIP week lines are listed at $19.99 and $24.99.
What is the "vip free week" on Kalos TV?
It's the name of two VIP lines on the US listing, priced $19.99 and $24.99. The listing doesn't explain whether a free period comes first or what you pay after it, so don't treat the name as a promise of no charge. The payment sheet in the app shows the price, period and first billing date. If you do start one, cancel at least 24 hours before it ends if you don't want to be billed.
Who makes Kalos TV?
The App Store lists the seller as Storyverse Co., Limited. Kalos TV launched on September 11, 2023, and the latest version we saw, 2.20.0, was released on September 18, 2026. The listing gives kalostv@kalostv.com as a contact email. It has 4.54 stars from 13,155 US ratings and is available in 12 languages.
Is Kalos TV safe?
It's a legitimate app on the official App Store, rated 13+, with payments handled by Apple. The risks are about money: subscriptions auto-renew, several items have unclear names, and coin counts per pack aren't listed. Read the payment sheet before confirming anything, check your subscription list for every Kalos TV entry, and turn on purchase controls if a child or teen uses the phone.
How much is Kalos TV VIP?
The US listing shows two VIP lines named "vip free week" at $19.99 and $24.99. The description says VIP unlocks all exclusive content and renews automatically. Four weeks at $19.99 would come to $79.96. Prices vary by country and can change, so the payment sheet in the app is the figure that counts.
Can I change playback speed on Kalos TV?
Yes. The App Store description lists playback speed from 0.75x to 2x as a feature. Faster speeds help you get through slower setup episodes, and slower ones can help when you're reading subtitles. The listing also mentions personalized recommendations based on what you watch.
How do I cancel Kalos TV?
On iPhone, open Settings, tap your name, then Subscriptions, choose Kalos TV and tap Cancel Subscription. If you have both a VIP and a coin package subscription, cancel each one. Do it at least 24 hours before expiry. Deleting the app doesn't cancel. One-time coin packs don't renew and won't appear in the list.
Sources
- App Store (US), "Kalos TV-Short Dramas & Reels" by Storyverse Co., Limited (app id 6463394851): rating, age rating, release date, version, languages, in-app purchases, description and contact email, read October 15, 2026.
- App Store (US), Playlet and StardustTV listings: rating counts referenced for comparison, read October 15, 2026.
- Apple Support, "Cancel a subscription from Apple", read October 15, 2026: support.apple.com/en-us/118428.
- Apple Support, "Request a refund for apps or content that you bought from Apple", read October 15, 2026: support.apple.com/en-us/118223.
- Apple Support, "Turn off Apple In-App Purchases from Screen Time on your iPhone or iPad", read October 15, 2026: support.apple.com/en-us/102470.
- Google Play Help, "Cancel, pause, or change a subscription on Google Play", read October 15, 2026: support.google.com/googleplay/answer/7018481.
- Google Play Help, "Purchase verification for Google Play", read October 15, 2026: support.google.com/googleplay/answer/1626831.
- Google Play, TotalShort: Short Drama Series listing (Agape Group GmbH), read October 15, 2026: play.google.com.